Post Fishbowl Discussion 1 Reflections

  • What themes, ideas, and connections emerged from your cohort’s fishbowl discussion today?  What ideas were most interesting or informative for you?
  •  What worked well for you in today’s discussion? What suggestions might you have to make our next discussion better?

Please share your thoughts and reflections in two well-organized paragraphs.  

31 comments on “Post Fishbowl Discussion 1 Reflections

  1. Jacob H. says:

    The fishbowl helped me understand some things about the book i was reading. Talking to other people reading the same book was very helpful to me. It helped me better understand the direction the book was heading and understand the smaller details better. It also helped to me better understand the themes going on in our group.

    I think that the discussion went very well. We were flowing very well once we got it going. But it might be better next time if someone threw out an idea before to start the conversation. Besides that everything went great.

    • Jacob Hewgley says:

      The themes that emerged from the books in my group was war. Almost every book had a war. Even the ones that didn’t have a war still had a conflict. Basically all the books are showing people overcoming great conflicts.

  2. Olivia L says:

    The fishbowl discussion brought out many different ideas, themes, and connections about my book and others. Although we didn’t discuss a lot of different connections, Mrs. Lester mentioned one after the discussion that caught my attention. In the book ‘Burn My Heart’ the people’s land was taken over by men who thought they were superior to them. Which is exactly what happened in ‘Cry, The Beloved Country’. Some ideas that were discussed in the fishbowl were discrimination or the act of being prejudice, immigration, civil wars and the effect civil wars have on families and people. All of our books seem to come together even though they all consist of many different issues.
    The fishbowl discussion helped me better understand my book as well as some of the other books. Our discussion went well, there wasn’t a lot of dead silence and no one got off topic. Some people gave a lot of ideas and opinions, others not so much. My suggestion to make the discussions better next time would be to make more connections and for more people to give their input.

  3. Cristina G. says:

    Throughout the first fishbowl discussion my group had, many ideas and connections came to mind. The group found and announced connections that all of our books had together, such as the ideas of loneliness and endangerment. Although many books were shared through the circle, many connections were found to relate one book to the other, making it simple and easy to share ideas through the same thought process. Some ideas that were brought up in the discussion that we had were the ideas of survival in tough situations, how loneliness can make situations more difficult, and how we think that Americans as a whole would be less likely to take the pressures of dangerous situations. As stated, these ideas were also connected through all of our books, no matter the plot. The most interesting idea to me was the fact that we all agreed that Americans could not handle the pressure of a dangerous situation, unlike the characters in all of our books.

    In today’s discussion, many things went very well. The conversation in my group flowed easily, especially after starting. Ideas were easily thrown around and people seemed comfortable expressing their feelings. However, when we first started, things were slow. Perhaps in the future, we could find a more specific way to start, giving easier head way into conversations.

  4. Teagan C. says:

    The fishbowl discussion was actually more helpful than I initially thought it would be. It really helped me make connections to other historical happenings and allowed me to have another view at what else was happening during the same catastrophe (such as what was happening to other lost boys). Since I appear to be the only one reading /They Poured Fire On Us from The Sky/ it was great to have other stories for me to connect to.

    In the discussion, I really liked how smoothly people spoke. I felt like everyone was listening and was being respectful to each other. However, I did feel a little claustrophobic in our seating arrangement. I do think that when we start, maybe we should have a list of things we want to cover so we are not jumping from idea to idea in no particular order.

  5. Ella W. says:

    It was interesting to learn about all the situations involving child exploitation. The fishbowl idea helped me to better understand our topic and how the world is greatly affected by it. Through reading my book, I had various questions as to what might have been going on during that time or why certain things were taking place. It made me feel better to know that we all had a few questions and were helping each other find explinations. Through listening to everyone voice their thoughts and opinions, it really helped me to mold my own thoughts about my book and child exploitation.

    As to the overall discussion, I believe it went very well. We all had a great flow from the start and had no trouble keeping conversation going. Sometimes I felt like all some people were discussing was the summary of their books and I was under the impression we were not talking about that? I might be wrong though. I also noticed that many people in our group were all reading the same book. It was interesting to hear how they all thought about it, but, speaking for those of us who are not reading the novel, if next time we could all be incorporated it might be even more interesting!
    I look forward to next time!

  6. Sarena G. says:

    Pages 1-164

    10/10/11

    God Grew Tired Of Us – John Bul Dau

    The fishbowl discussion proved to be more helpful than I thought it would be. It brought out many different themes other then genocide. It enhanced my knowledge of racism because other books in the circle had a theme similar to it occurring. We connected the news article about the Mississippi hate crime to how the populace in God Grew Tired of Us was beaten until they could not walk. The most informative part of the fishbowl discussion was when everyone gave an example of how they felt, while reading about the hardships that the characters endured.

    I thought that having the group leader start the discussion was a comfortable way for everyone to get started in the conversation. If this continued, I think that more people would ease into the communication about books. Also, having the students give vivid examples from outside sources helped me understand the other novels better. Another part of the discussion I found helpful was having the outside circle ask clarifying questions. I suggest we have everyone look for an outside source relating to the discussion each time we have a fishbowl discussion.

  7. Alex D says:

    Pages 1-58

    9 October 2011

    God Grew Tired of Us- John Bul Dau

    This fishbowl discussion seemed to be more productive then I expected. I learned a great deal about my book and its issues along with the criteria of other peoples stories in my circle. We discussed many other issues beside genocide. Comparisons were made between the books and Cry the Beloved Country about racism. My knowledge of racism of the past and present was enhanced because of the discussions of today’s racism and from the inner circle books. We connected the hate crime in Mississippi to the murders and tortures in God Grew Tired of Us induced by people of a different ethnicity. The most informative part of the fishbowl discussion was when everybody would relate the issues in their book to a current or past event further describing the main points of the issues.
    I think being in a close circle of a few people helped with the pressure significantly. It eliminated the hesitation of presenting in front of a group of people. Being close together like that allows us to talk to each other and a normal tone and comfortably share our feelings and opinions towards the topic. I feel if we keep doing this the people talking will find they are quite comfortable with the atmosphere. I’m not sure if we are going to rearrange the circles people wise, but I personally think we shouldn’t. I suggest we keep the people in the circles the same because everybody will become familiar with each other. This would eventually eliminate all uncomfortable feelings and everybody would share their thoughts. We would benefit greatly from proceeding with the same faces.

    • Alex, thank you so much for your honest feedback. We are definitely going to roll with the same groups for the very reasons you articulated—I’m already excited to hear what you all have to say on Friday! Thank you for your time and efforts.

      Ms. Hamilton

  8. Logan says:

    Logan R.
    pages 1-60
    Beast Of No Nation

    The fishbowl discussion went better and smoother than i thought it would. The way the discussion functioned went well. The participants colaborated very well, and were able to share a lot of common ideas, and get all of their thoughts out into the discussion. The fishbowl made me realize that people do not always comprehend material the same way as other people might understand it. So the fishbowl was good to clarify ideas and thoughts about their book. It also let you ask questions to people who were reading the same book about things you might me “foggy” about. The fishbowl helped everyone share common ideas and get on the same page.

    Eventhough, all of us were not reading the same book, we all had a common plot among us. In our fishbowl our main problem was child exploitation. Some of our novels would take place in different areas around the world and in different time periods, but they all had a common problem and story line. Every member of the discussion was able to colaborate and make connections between the novels and relate them to modern day like her in the United States. This made us all wonder why weren’t these problems being fixed? What can we do to help these innocent people? It made everyone take a step back and think. So I would say the fishbowl discussions were a sucess.

  9. Cynda T. says:

    One factor that I enjoyed in the fishbowl discussion on Friday was that I learned about some themes and ideas of my peers’ novels. I discovered that most of the students in my group had a book dealing with war and child exploitation. More common factors were characters facing being alone and the involvement of various countries throughout the world. Because much of my group was reading Beasts of No Nation, I was more informed of that book than any other. Again, one of the main conflicts that arose in the novel was the protagonist being alone throughout a war. The main character was a Christian who felt as if he was doing wrong by killing others in the war. But as his life went on, he developed a desire to kill. Another book that really caught my attention while I was in the outer circle was Alana’s book. The central issue was that the main character had HIV, causing her whole life basically to be kept a secret. I discovered that this was a writing I might be interested in reading. Through partaking in the discussion, I was able to compare and contrast my book’s central conflict with others. By doing so, it helped me have a clearer understanding of the basic themes and ideas.

    In the beginning, everyone was a little hesitant about where to begin and what to discuss. But after we started talking, we had a great flow and made a lot of progress. Although there were many benefits of the fishbowl, there are some suggestions that I have for the next. Throughout the entire conversation, I felt as we all were rushed. I think it would be more enjoyable if we had a longer time to complete the fishbowl, so it would not have to end in the middle of one’s thought process. Another problem that arose was that certain people throughout the group talked considerably more than others. If we had an organized order or a time limit each one could talk about each topic, I think this issue could be avoided. Overall, I enjoyed interacting with my classmates and learning about their books. I also liked how the discussion relied completely on the students, getting us ready for the next level of learning.

  10. Adrienne A says:

    Pages 1- 150

    10 October 2011

    Little Brother- Cory Doctorow

    This fishbowl discussion was a lot more productive and helpful than I expected it to be. I learned a lot about everyone’s books and how the connections related to mine, which helped me understand some of the issues better in my book. We discussed the issues of predjudice and genocide and all of the people in my circle related to one another in many ways. We connected the news article about the Mississippi hate crime to how the populace in God Grew Tired of Us which also helped me understand some of the injustices in my book as well. The most helpful part of the fishbowl discussion was when everyone gave an example of how they felt, while reading about the issues going on throughout their books.

    I thought that having the group leader start the discussion was a comfortable way for everyone to get started and cleared up the awkwardness of it. Also that we were seperated into 2 groups made it easier since the circles were smaller. It made people more comfortable to speak up. I feel if we keep doing this and keep the same groups than I think people will become more familiar with the process and actually start to look forward to these disscussions.

  11. Claire C. says:

    Mrs. Lester
    Hon Lit/Comp 10
    10 October 2011
    Fishbowl Discussion 1 Reflections
    Pages 1-85
    Burn My Heart-Beverley Naidoo

    The Fishbowl discussion turned out to be a very creative and helpful way of discussing the connections, similarities, and differences with our books. One of the main topics that we shared within our group was the amount of faith and courage you must have throughout a journey. Each of our books maintained some kind of external and internal struggle. It was important that we acknowledged that into the discussion as well. We also incorporated connections with our previous novel, Cry, the Beloved Country and how we could relate to the injustices and segregations of our own books. I found the different relations we shared to be most interesting to me. Each of us talked about the personal relations we had with our books and it made me realize how important it is to have a deep understanding of the story.

    At the beginning of the fishbowl discussion, I believe everyone was a little unsure about which way we should take the discussion. We were also quite hesitant with ourselves. Though, by filling the silent moments with whatever thoughts or concerns we had, it made the first fishbowl discussion very successful. To make the next discussion even better I believe we should be less hesitant and have a little more input with our thoughts and opinions. Other than that, I look forward to the next fishbowl discussion because I know that we are all more confident with how it works.

  12. Tucker I says:

    I feel like our class’ fishbowl discussion was helpful. It helped me make connections from my book to the real world and Cry, the Beloved Country. In Friday’s fishbowl discussion, I feel like it was a trial run for us. We were all nervous at the beginning, but now that it’s over with it wasn’t all that bad like I thought it would be. Even though not many people are reading the same exact book as me, many people are feeling the same connections to their books that I feel in mine. The ideas in the books are the same, even though the characters and the plot are not.
    Next time in our fishbowl discussion, I feel like we should pretty much keep it the same. I do not have any input on what would make it better, other than keeping the same groups the whole time to keep the comfort level up. I liked how we could all talk and not have a teacher butting in and everything. We could just have an academic conversation and not have anyone there to interrupt or assume what we were thinking is what they were. All in all though, I thoroughly enjoyed our fishbowl discussion.

  13. Natalie S says:

    The Fishbowl discussion brought forth in-depth connections between events mentioned in our novels and events of our world. I found it to be very interesting to hear my peers speak their mind about topics of controversy. To me, discussions about issues that hold meaning in peoples’ lives not only allow a person to express their own thoughts, but it allows a person a better understanding of their peers themselves. Through this discussion, I grew to respect the people involved in my group much more for their intellectual thought process. Overall, I found this to be a very eye-opening experience.
    In addition, the incorporation of a diverse selection of novels aided the process of discussion. Due to the wide range of events happening in each novel,there was never a moment of silence. I found it to be interesting to hear the graphic nature of some novels students in our class are reading. It was incredible to hear the emotion the readers expressed when speaking about it. I look forward to the next fishbowl discussion; I thoroughly enjoyed this activity!

  14. Jordan G. says:

    Burn My Heart – Oct. 11, 2011

    It was interesting to see how all of the different books in the fishbowl discussion came together through common themes. Even though some of the books did not have the same central theme, making other smaller connections between all of the novels as well as Cry, The Beloved Country really helped me to better understand my book. While trying to explain the relationship between certain characters in my book (Mugo’s family and Mathew’s family) I could see that when I would compare my book to Cry, The Beloved Country that people in the outer circle were able to understand more of what points I was trying to make. All of the problems surrounding prejudice and genecide were also eye opening to me. It was interesting to learn about what people had to go through and are still going through to this day.

    I actually really enjoyed the group discussion we had and I thought it went a lot better than what I was expecting. However, I feel as though some people could have talked more while in the inner circle. It seemed as though everyone was able to ask atleast one question while in the outer circle but when they were thrown into the inner circle they hardly said anything. I would suggest somehow trying to get the quieter people to talk more during the discussion. Also, I felt very confused while in the outer circle. I was unsure of what types of questions to ask even with the sheet we were given.

  15. Adam M says:

    Adam Miles
    Mrs. Lester
    10th World Lit/ Comp
    11 October 2011

    Fishbowl Discussion Reflection 1

    The themes that emerged from our group were the themes of genocide and discrimination. We discussed why a group would want to do something so cruel to another group. Also, we talked about the how the character’s lives were impacted by these events. The information that was most interesting to me was the terrible things that the characters had to do just to survive.

    The thing that worked well in our group was that all of the members were well informed about the information in their book. The conversation moved pretty quickly and lacked distracting comments. There were very few times that the entire group was silent. One thing that might improve the discussion is an idea that the group could focus on. We could then center our facts around this idea and create a better flowing conversation.

  16. Ben O says:

    In my group, everyone had a similar theme and conflict. One of the reoccurring themes was the horrors of war. The members who read Beast of no Nation shared a lot about how the main character was found in a cabin, and how he was beat up by the soldiers. In my book, A Long Way Gone, Ishmael Beah describes how he saw a man carry his dead son for five or so miles. Another theme was the injustices in the world’s society. One member is reading a book about a girl who has HIV, and how her grandma does not let her go out in public. Sold was another book that had a social injustice theme; it is a book about how a teenage girl was tricked into prostitution. Most of the books in my discussion were about child exploitation and war.
    What really helped me in my part of the discussion were the two paragraphs that we had to write during the week. Without these I would not have able to have shared parallels in my and someone else’s book. On the other hand, I think that having smaller groups would help with the requirement of everyone asking a question, because it was a challenge to get a sentence in during the discussion. Also having just one circle could be an easier way to run the discussion, because the outer circle would not have to wait ten minutes to ask a question about someone’s book. With these opinions in mind, I think that our next fishbowl discussion will be a breeze.

  17. Eric D. says:

    The fishbowl gave me a different look at the books me and my group were reading. Espeacially since at first thought I did not think it would be as helpful as it was. I had two other people in my cohorts that were reading the same book I was. They helped clear some things up that I had found a little confusing at first.

    I was able to make some connections with my fellow students. I think being able to sit in the outter circle and not have to think about anything except what the other people were saying was nice. Then once I was in the inner circle I enjoyed the process of being able to interact with people that had similar books. I think the biggest thing that worked for me when asking questions was just having a general knowledge of my book. That way, once someone had said something about the book I was able to add on. I enjoyed the overall experience of the fish bowl and I enjoyed it just the way it was.

  18. Madison V. says:

    This first fishbowl activity really helped me comprehend the things that are going on in my book. By connecting with other people in my group was very helpful to me. I understood what the book was talking about more and more as I was listening to what other people who were reading the same book as me had to say. I understood the little details which helped me connect with the book even more.

    I personally think this fishbowl discussion went very good. My group is very cooperative in talking about what each books conflict were. This has helped me understand my book as well as other books in our group. There were many ideas and details discussed in my group. My suggestion for the next fishbowl activity we have is to make more connections so that more people can give their input about their book.

  19. Ben M. says:

    Mrs. Lester
    11 October 2011
    Pages 1- 60
    The Translator

    The fishbowl discussions were a huge help to me in understanding the hardships being faced around the world while we Americans go throughout our day. My group was very informative and passionate about the themes that they brought up in our in-depth fishbowl discussion. One of the main themes that emerged from my cohort’s fishbowl discussion was the genocides happening all over the world. People all over Africa are being killed by the thousands by the governments in order for the governments to either rid a certain area of a race or to gain rare natural resources found in the native Africans area. This specific topic was very powerful to me because while I sit in the library typing this report, native Africans are losing their lives because of a very corrupted government.
    The discussion was very slow in the beginning but as the students gained confidence in hearing their own voice, they became more open to sharing their thoughts to the group. I was very interested to hear about people in my group sharing the same feelings I did about our topic. Ideas flew around and eventually came together to form a very deep discussion. I belive that the discussion could have gone on for a longer period of time but we were on a schedule so maybe next week!

  20. Brandy P. says:

    The fishbowl discussion allowed us all to get a feel for the different themes involved within each of our books. Most of our fishbowl group is reading books that deal with child exploitation. It was very interesting to see all of the various opinions everyone had on child exploitation, as well as each persons out takes and understandings of the book they were reading. For example, many of the people in my group were reading Beasts of No Nation and once we got on discussion about this book, it was clear to see that everybody had their own unique understandings of the book. This allowed many of us to make connections to our own books we were reading. The discussion also allowed me to get a better understanding of my own book Secrets In the Fire as I listened to others in depth opinions who are also reading the book.

    Though our discussion started off a little slow, it eventually ended up becoming very in depth with everyones collaboration on opinions. I liked the idea of how the inner and outer circle worked together as the inner group reflected with eachother and the outer group collaborated on the inner circles ideas and inputs. This allowed everyone to share their own opinions. The only suggestion I would have for our next fishbowl discussion is maybe a little more time because once everyone got the feel for the discussion, opinions and ideas just kept flowing. We sometimes had to cut someone off in the middle of their opinions just to allow others to have a chance to speak their thoughts. The limited time somewhat interrupted the flow of our discussion.

  21. Elizabeth H. says:

    The fishbowl discussion was much more captivating, informative, and productive than I first imagined it would be. Although there were not many connections discussed between our books and real events, connections among the issues in the books all of us are reading were made. Each of our books contained some sort of journey-emotional or physical- that our characters had to make. They also all stressed the importance of family ties. I really enjoyed hearing everyone’s opinions on the situations of the characters and how they might act if they were in those situations.
    In the fishbowl discussion, I liked how the atmosphere was very relaxed and everyone was able to share their thoughts and information freely. I also liked how the whole process worked with being able to ask each other questions regarding our feelings or just to clarify information that was given. I hope we stay in the same groups as we were in Friday because I think we will be more productive in the future if we are comfortable with our peers.

  22. Brittany M says:

    In the fishbowl discussion, it helped us to discuss our ideas and thoughts without having to worry about being ridiculed. It helped everyone to see the connections and the differences within our books. I found that by talking with our group members and having everyone participate made the discussion “click”. As we discussed the internal and external conflicts, our group recognized that all of our external conflicts related to one another in some manner. We also realized that by having our external conflicts relate, that our internal conflicts were similarly related. We related crimes and ceonnections from our previous novel study which in return helped the group to realize that our society has more issues than we intially thought.

    At the initial start of the discussion, it was obvious that everyone was nervous and slightly confused. As the discussion went on, we all became more comfortable as we saw that it was easy to talk with our classmates because we were in small groups who could all relate to the same topics. For further use of this method of study, I would like to keep the same groups as we have all learned how the others interact and speak as well as making us comfortable so that we can join in the discussion also. As we become more comfortable with our group members, information and topic discussion should flow more smoothly as we learn how to interact in a familiar environment. Talking in a group as we did, this helped me greatly in overcoming my shy and hesitant nature during discussions for the future.

  23. Kristiena S. says:

    The fishbowl discussion turned out to be very helpful to me on Friday. Not only did it help me better understand my book more, it also let me see other people’s view on some of the same issues that were also in their book. I was in the inner circle and one of our themes was Genocide, this is the theme represented in my book and hearing other people talk about the same issue that is occurring in their book helped me reflect and better understand the bigger picture of what really happened in the civil war between north and south Sudan. One of the outer circle’s themes when they came in and became the inner circle, was prejudice and it was helpful to hear them talk about some of the things that are happening in their book because some of it related to my own book while the other showed me things that I should be looking out for and paying more close attention to when I go on and read the rest of my book. This discussion really was a positive and intriguing experience and it helped me see and understand the themes much better.
    One of the things that worked well for me in today’s discussion was that we got to talk about the same issues that were going on amongst the inner circle and together we helped each other better understand our own books. It was also helpful that we had a writing prompt to kind of help us say what we needed to say and have an idea of what would be discussed in the ten minutes we had to talk about our books. I liked how we got to talk about what we found in the book and what we think other than we being guided on what we were supposed to think. By doing this I really think I understood the issues better. Although things went very well in the discussion I think that it would be better if I would have been better prepared in what I was going to talk about. I also think that it would help make everyone more comfortable if we stayed in the same groups every time we have a fishbowl discussion. This fishbowl discussion was a great success and I look forward to participating in the next one.

  24. Alaina L. says:

    Honors 10th grade Lit
    11 October 2011

    The fishbowl discussion opened my eyes to new problems that are going on in the different books and the problems that are going on in the world today. All of the books that everyone is reading deal with child exploitation issues. In my book, it is really about HIV and how it is present everywhere in the world today. Most of the books had to deal with war. Many of the children were forced to kill people or be in war. I thought that must be really tough on them now. I found it really helpful that everyone took part in the discussion on Friday. It showed me the issues that were similar in many ways but also different in other ways as well. I agree with what Cynda had said about the Beast of No Nation. We heard about that book the most. I did like hearing about it, but it always came from the same people. I would like to hear more from other peoples’ views that are reading the book and what their thoughts were. Even though that took up most of our discussion, I liked learning about that book, and the similarities that it had between my book and theirs.
    The idea that I like best of the fishbowl discussion is that we have all the same topic, even though there are different books. I learned from others and I hope they learned the same from me as well. I really enjoyed having this time to talk with others about these books. I think we just need more time, like two class periods, so that we do not rush anyone. Otherwise, I really did enjoy the Fishbowl discussion, and I hope we have more of these during the time we have our book.

  25. Frank F. says:

    Today, I had my first first fishbowl discussion. We had talked about genocide, social injustices, and more unfair and awful events happening in our novels. Even though some of our novels are not true stories, they represent events that are terrible and unjust that are happening in the real world. Our discussion has made me think about the genocide in Africa and all over the world. Innocent people may be dieing right now because they have a different skin color or they believe in some other god. Everyone has the right to live in peace.

    In our discussion, everyone had enough information about the book. They gave all everything we needed to understand their novels. Even though it took us a bit to break the ice, I think it is has ran really smooth. Some suggestions for the future is that we do should stay on one topic at a time and move to another whenever everyone has shared what they have to say on the subject. Also at some points, there was an awkward silence but I believe as we progress and do more discussions, we will become more successful.

  26. Bethany R. says:

    The fishbowl discussion was a lot more helpful to me than I thought it would be. Having other people in my group that were reading the same book as me, I was able to get a different understanding on the things I confused with. This way I can get even more in depth in the book than before. Having two other people in the cohorts as me really helped me to flow the discussion along. The fishbowl discussion is very helpful to me because I was able to learn even more information from the people who had the same book as me.

    The discussion seemed to flow very well on Friday. We all learned that some of us may have different books, but mostly we could all relate. This week I expect it to be even better now that we’ve already experienced it once we can jump in even faster. All we really need to get us started was a conversation starter. The fishbowl discussion to me was a success and will get even better every week.

  27. Rebecca M. says:

    The fishbowl was slightly confusing at first. In my group, we were not sure how to start. Katie did very well and starting the discussion though. What her and the others said got me to think about my book some more. I think I might have gained a slightly better understanding of my book during the fishbowl. As soon as everyone is used to it, I’m sure we’ll all be able to understand our social injustice book a little better.

    I liked how the fishbowl worked. Everyone was involved in the dicussion and they all had different things to say. It took a while for us to get started because not many people knew how to participate in a fishbowl. We also had much more to say about our book. Perhaps if we had more time, we would be able to say more.

  28. Katie L. says:

    The fishbowl disscussion really helped me to understand the book, Beasts of No Nation so much bettet and think about things that are happening in the book that i wouldnt have by myself. The students around me that were and were not reading the same book as me made connections to real life with us as well as other books around the room. To me that helps tremendously so that i can get a better perspective of what Agu (the main charater of my book) is feeling through out all that hes is having to go through. It helped me to understand how he is feeling and how hes being so strong going through what he is.

    I feel that the same people were disscussing and adding more to the conversation which isnt a bad thing whatsoever at all but i think we shouldve heard more from other people. It was only our first time experiancing this way of learning and getting our ideas out more though and im sure the more we do it the more comfortable we will get with sharing with the group. Also we have touched on some vital issues and i think after we’ve read more into our books we should revisit some of those ideas and touch base on how what we thought at first compares to how things are now. I thought i was going to dread the fish bowl disscussion and that it would e boring but it was intreuging and interesting and helpful. I hope we do more of this.

  29. Lily G says:

    In our fish bowl discussion, our group discussed child exploitation. We reviewed the basic plot summary of each of our books, and I was glad to hear another person’s perspective on my book, Secrets in the Fire. Something my group discovered is how in all of our books, with one or two exceptions, the children in the stories had their entire life ripped from them at one moment, and they were forced to grow up in just minutes. We also agreed that even though we say we would never be able to what these children had to do, in reality if we were forced into the same situation, having to choose between life and death, we would probably do the same as the characters.
    In all honesty I think the discussion worked out just dandy. I think it might have been easier for me if I had my paragraphs, but that’s a personal error, not one that the group needs to fix. Perhaps we could fix the seating arrangement so it’s easier to listen to the people talking; I know I had some issues hearing the people who were not facing me. Also, it might be easier to start the flow if we had some sort of starting idea that is thrown out.

Leave a Reply

